Got a new space for your warehouse? Great! Make sure that when your physical warehouse location moves, to move your fixed gateways along with it.

 

To ensure the integrity of historical data is not compromised, follow the steps below to relocate your fixed (warehouse) gateways:


Physically unplug the gateway(s) from the "old" warehouse locations BEFORE doing the "uninstall" step; then only physically plug it back in and provision at the "new" warehouse location after "installing" it with the mobile/web app.



Using the mobile app:

  • From the menu in the upper-right corner, select “Locations”.

    • Click the “+” option in the upper-left corner of the Location search page to create your new fixed (warehouse) location. 

    • Ensure the type is “Fixed”, and name the location as needed. 

    • Submit the new fixed location.

  • After the new fixed location has been added, from the menu in the upper-right corner, select "Gateways". 

  • Select the gateway that will be relocated, then select "uninstall" and confirm. This will uninstall the fixed gateway for the "old" location.

  • Install the fixed gateways at your new location, and provision as outlined here.

    • This will reinstall the gateway to your new warehouse location.

Using the web app:

  • From the menu on the left, select "Warehouses"

    • Click the green "New Warehouse" button in the upper-right corner, and add details before you "Create" the new location

  • After the new fixed location/warehouse has been added, from the gear menu in the upper-right corner, select "Gateways". 

  • Select the gateway that will be relocated, then select "uninstall" from the upper left side of the page, and confirm. This will uninstall the fixed gateway for the "old" location.

  • Install the fixed gateways at your new location, and provision as outlined here.

    • This will reinstall the gateway to your new warehouse location.


Temporary warehouses without gateways

Should you find yourself needing to use a temporary warehouse for storage (or other) purposes, but don't wish to attach a gateway to it, you can still create a warehouse location and assign the assets that will be housed there to that location. Without the gateway, however, the only way to track the assets in a gateway-free warehouse is by monitoring as it goes offline for an extended period.

  • Follow the steps above (either mobile or web app) to create a new location/warehouse, skipping the "Gateways" step in either method. 
  • This will reduce "orphaned" assets as it gives them a home, but tracking of the assets will not be accurate without the fixed gateway available. 


Deleting a Warehouse Location


If you’ve accidentally added a warehouse location (for testing purposes, for example) and would rather delete the location (rather than edit the details to align with a 'real' or 'true' warehouse location) please follow the instructions below:


  • Select  “Warehouses” from the menu on the left.

  • Click the name of the warehouse you want to delete.

  • Click on “Job Activity” from menu for that warehouse, then:

    • Thoroughness Check: See if there is a gateway associated with this warehouse. Click on the “Gateways” tab located in the middle of the page.

      • If there is a gateway: follow steps to uninstall the gateway from this location first (see above).

    • Thoroughness Check: See if there are any assets assigned to that warehouse as their home location

      • Select the “Assets” tab from the left menu.

      • In the top menu, change "All Locations" to the location you are removing to see if any assets are assigned to that location for their home location. Reassign them to the correct warehouse/home location.

  • Once confirmed there are no assigned gateway(s) or assets to the warehouse location, click on the red “Delete” button.

    *Note: Currently, deleted warehouses will still show in the drop down menu from the top page toolbar for account owners. Deleted warehouses will NOT be shown to other users on the Kahi account. We are making a change to this visual.